Posted by: JackRyan88 | March 17, 2014

Learning Patience.

This morning as I commuted in to work, I thought about many different things, what thoughts are those that I should meditate on for the day?  What is that I should write about?  What worries or inadequacies am I consuming myself with?  Where does God want me to dwell in today?  Patience…

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. (Colossians 3:12 NIV)

I confess that I don’t always have compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  More often I want things in my time, my way, how I see it.  And rarely do I find the patience to wait for God to move me; to be compassionate, to be kind, to have humility, to be gentle, and to be patient.  Often I hide from the opposite thoughts and/or feelings, but they are felt.  And I lay the sin of shame upon myself because of how far I am from them.

Forgive me Lord, for not always being patient, showing compassion or being kind.  I want to be closer to you, I want to be near you.  Show me patience and let me learn to be patient for your will.

Leave a Reply

Categories

