Posted by: JackRyan88 | March 18, 2014

Honoring

Last night as I came home I received a text from my wife stating, “It’s your turn to park in the garage.”  We live in a house with a single car garage and when we moved there we agreed to share the garage during inclement weather.  Well a Winter Storm/Advisory was issued early yesterday, and my wife wanted to give me the chance to have the luxury of the garage.

But… all winter I have made it available to her.  She works the longer hours, she comes home late, and I just want to honor her in something simple.  So when I got home, I switched the cars around and put her car in the garage.  She didn’t notice for about an hour and then happen to be looking outside and noticed my car outside.

She said to me with a look of disappointment, I wanted you to park in the garage today.  You have let me park there all winter long, and I know you have an important meeting at work tomorrow so I wanted to give you this.  Why can’t you let me honor you?

That led me to think and reflect on my actions last night.  By moving around the cars was I really honoring my wife?  Sure she got the choice spot, her car didn’t have a speck of snow or ice on it.  But was it really honoring her?  “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the Church and gave himself up for her (Ephesians 5:25).”

It may have been an act of love, but I didn’t honor her intention to do something for me.  Her act of love towards me was an act of submission to honor me.  “Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands as you do the Lord (Ephesians 5:22).”  It was a simple act, and may seem comical (a parking spot in the garage), but it is how we honor, respect and love each other, as Christ loves us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

