Posted by: JackRyan88 | March 19, 2014

Sinful Truth

There are times either in our work or in our private lives where we are asked to turn the other way to allow something dishonest to happen.  What does this say about ourselves as Christians?

This happens to us all at some point, where we are told to keep something quiet even though it potentially violates a Man’s law, and/or God’s law.  For instance, exceeding the speed limit.  Our country and states have laws about how fast we can drive.  Exceeding those limits is not only dishonoring our countries laws but also God’s laws.

We are reminded that we are to remain obedient to our governing authorities.

Remind them to be submissive to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good work (Titus 3:1).

We can say to ourselves, I only exceeded the speed limit by 5 mph, and I didn’t hurt anyone or anything by doing that.  Sure we may not hurt anyone or anything by exceeding the speed limit, but it does not honor God.

As Christians we are to be an example to the World.  As sinners we fall short of being that example.  But recognizing our sinful nature is a step to reconciling our sins, and walking towards the light of God.

Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight; so you are right in your verdict and justified when you judge (Psalm 5: 3-4)

Leave a Reply

Categories

